Skip to main content
'''Bjørnstjerne Martinius Bjørnson''' (; 8 December 1832 – 26 April 1910) was a Norway|Norwegian writer who received the 1903 Nobel Prize in Literature "as a tribute to his noble, magnificent and versatile poetry, which has always been distinguished by both the freshness of its inspiration and the rare purity of its spirit", becoming the first Norway|Norwegian Nobel laureate. Bjørnson is considered to be one of The Four Greats (Norwegian writers)|The Four Greats (''De Fire Store'') among Norwegian writers, the others being Henrik Ibsen, Jonas Lie (writer)|Jonas Lie, and Alexander Kielland. Bjørnson is also celebrated for his lyrics to the Norwegian National Anthem, "Ja, vi elsker dette landet".
Imagesize| alt =
Pseudonym| birth_name = Bjørnstjerne Martinius Bjørnson
Birth date{{birth date|1832|12|8|df=y}}
Birth placeKvikne, Union between Sweden and Norway|Norway
Death date{{death date and age|1910|4|26|1832|12|8|df=y}}
Death placeParis, French Third Republic|France
Resting place| occupation = Poet, novelist, playwright, lyricist
Language| nationality = Norwegians|Norwegian
ReligionNone (Atheism|Atheist)[] Web. 29 Apr. 2016.
Ethnicity| citizenship =
share Share
favorite Favorite
up-solid down-solid